New San Diego congressmen sworn in

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Juan Vargas, Scott Peters

SAN DIEGO — Two new members of San Diego’s congressional delegation were sworn in by House Speaker John Boehner Thursday.

Scott Peters and Juan Vargas, both Democrats, are beginning their freshman terms following November election victories. Democrats will hold a 3-2 majority among local members of the House of Representatives.

Peters, a former port commissioner and ex-member of the San Diego City Council, unseated Rep. Brian Bilbray, R-Solana Beach, by a narrow margin in an election that wasn’t decided until about a week after voters went to the polls.

“You’re probably feeling a bit awestruck at this moment — history runs through this building,” Boehner told the new members. “And now, you’re among a select few to share in this privilege. And for those of you who are returning, who have walked these aisles before, maybe it’s time we get a little awestruck again.”

Peters said he was “honored and eager” to take office.

He said his wife and two children joined him at the ceremony. He also attended a bipartisan prayer service at St. Peter’s Catholic Church in Washington, D.C., and held an open house at his Capitol Hill office.

Vargas, who resigned his state senate seat Wednesday, is also an ex- councilman. He is filling the seat of Bob Filner, the 10-term Democratic congressman who gave up his seat to make a successful mayoral bid.

Peters has been assigned to the House Armed Services Committee, while Vargas will join the Foreign Affairs Committee.

San Diego County is also represented by Rep. Susan Davis, D-San Diego; Rep. Duncan D. Hunter, R-El Cajon; and Rep. Darrell Issa, R-Vista.

Most Popular Stories

Latest News

More News