Candidates race to represent cities across San Diego County

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SAN DIEGO — Across San Diego County, candidates are vying to represent their cities as mayors, councilmembers and other local leaders.

Here are some of the key races in the seven largest cities:

San Diego

City Council – District No. 2
Jennifer Campbell – medical doctor/professor
Lorie Zapf – San Diego city councilmember 

City Council – District No. 4
Myrtle Cole – San Diego city council president
Monica Montgomery – attorney/civil rights advocate

City Council – District No. 6
Chris Cate – councilmember/council committee chair
Tommy Hough – broadcaster/environmental advocate

City Council – District No. 8
Antonio Martinez – school boardmember/healthcare educator
Vivian Moreno – council representative 

Chula Vista

Hector Raul Gastelum – Otay Water District director
Mary Casillas Salas – Chula Vista Mayor

City Council – District No. 1
Mark Bartlett – veterans caseworker
John McCann – councilman/Navy reservist

City Council – District No. 2
Jill M. Galvez – business owner/treasurer
Steve Stenberg – retired firefighter


City Council – District No. 2
Susan Custer – real estate businesswoman
Chuck Lowery – Oceanside city councilmember/businessman
Michael E. Malulani K. – educator/community planner
Esther C. Sanchez – Oceanside city councilmember/attorney

City Council – District No. 2
Dana Corso – businesswoman/community leader
Terry Warren “TJ” Johnson, Sr. – retired union electrician
Kristopher R. Kagan – finance executive/businessman
Lawrence “Larry” Kornit – cantor/project manager
Christopher Rodriguez – businessman/farmer


Sam Abed – Escondido mayor/businessowner
Paul “Mac” McNamara – businessman/college trustee

City Council District No. 1
Ed Gallo – councilman/businessowner
Consuelo Martinez – leadership development specialist

City Council – District No. 2
Nicole A. Downey – campus resource officer
John Masson – Escondido city councilmember
Vanessa Valenzuela – controller/finance manager


Matt Hall – Carlsbad mayor
Cori Schumacher – Carlsbad city councilmember

City Council – District No. 1
Linda Breen – engineer/small businesswoman
Tracy Carmichael – nonprofit executive/businesswoman
Barbara Hamilton – sustainability professional
David McGee – small business owner

City Council – District No. 3
Priya Bhat-Patel – health professional/businesswoman
Corrine Busta – businesswoman/veterans advocate

El Cajon

Joel A. Scalzitti – Helix Water District president
Robert M. Weaver, Jr. – program manager
Bill Wells – El Cajon mayor

City Council – District No. 1
Ben Kalasho – councilman/chamber president
Gary Kendrick – El Cajon city councilmember


Dominic D’Agostini – small business owner
Joe Green – councilmember/business owner
Judy Ritter – Vista mayor

City Council – District No. 1
John J. Aguilera – Vista deputy mayor
Corinna Contreras – community advocate/entrepreneur

City Council – District No. 4
John B. Franklin – business owner/councilmember
Tazheen Nizam – mother/business consultant
James Stuckrad

Most Popular Stories

Latest News

More News