Symphony announces inaugural lineup for The Rady Shell at Jacobs Park

Local

SAN DIEGO — The San Diego Symphony has announced the lineup for its inaugural season at The Rady Shell at Jacobs Park.

Originally slated for July 2020, opening weekend for The Rady Shell at Jacobs Park will be August 6-8 with the season running through Nov. 14. The Shell is the first bayside concert venue in the nation operated by a symphony orchestra and the first permanent waterfront venue on the west coast, according to a symphony news release.

The symphony lined up more than 40 acts for the season, including classical, Latin, jazz, pop and even some films and Broadway. Events can accommodate 2,000-10,000 guests.

Events highlighted by the symphony include:

  • Jason Mraz with orchestral arrangements featuring the San Diego Symphony (Sept. 26)
  • Cellist Yo-Yo Ma will reunite with his “Goat Rodeo” partners for a uniquely American, partially improvised performance in “Not Our First Goat Rodeo” (Aug. 22)
  • A film series for which the Symphony will perform the scores, including Rocketman — Live in Concert (Sept. 3) and Star Wars: Return of the Jedi (Sept. 18-19)
  • Seven Symphony performances led by Music Director Rafael Payare

The symphony said all concerts will begin at 7:30 p.m. unless otherwise noted. Additional concerts and events are expected to be announced and ticket information appears below.

The Rady Shell at Jacobs Park 2021 inaugural season lineup:

  • Friday, Aug. 6: Opening Night and Annual Gala: Rafael Payare conducts the San Diego Symphony featuring Ryan “Speedo” Green, Jean Yves-Thibaudet, Alisa Weilerstein, hosted by Vivian Scott Chew and directed by Gary Griffin, $45-$250
  • Saturday, Aug. 7: “The Best of Broadway,” with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Rob Fisher, $45-$250
  • Sunday, Aug. 8: Gladys Knight, $45-$250
  • Friday, Aug. 13: Troupe Vertigo in Space, with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Enrico Lopez-Yañez, $25-$95
  • Saturday, Aug. 14: Sebastian Maniscalco, $49-$125 (on sale Monday at 10 a.m. at ticketmaster.com)
  • Sunday, Aug. 15: “The Music of Stevie Wonder,” $25-$95
  • Tuesday, Aug. 17: Ledisi, with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Thomas Wilkins, $25-$95
  • Thursday, Aug. 19: Roger Daltrey, $45-$200
  • Friday, Aug. 20: “Beethoven by the Bay,” with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Aram Demirjian, $25-$95
  • Saturday, Aug. 21: Smokey Robinson, $45-$200
  • Sunday, Aug. 22: Not Our FirstGoat Rodeo, featuring Yo-Yo Ma, Edgar Meyer, Chris Thile and Stuart Duncan, with guest singer Aoife O’Donovan, $45-$250
  • Friday, Aug. 27: Stewart Copeland: “Police Deranged for Orchestra,” with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Edwin Outwater, $36-$120
  • Saturday, Aug. 28: Music of the Knights, with the San Diego Symphony conducted by Stuart Chafetz, $25-$95
  • Sunday, Aug. 29: Mariachi Los Camperos, with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Stuart Chafetz, $25-$95
  • Tuesday, Aug. 31: Brian Wilson, $45-$200
  • Friday, Sept. 3: Rocketman-Live in Concert, with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by John Beal, $36-$120
  • Saturday, Sept. 4: “The Goonies in Concert,” with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by John Beal, $36-$120
  • Sunday, Sept. 5: “The Finest Hour: Celebrating the Music that Ended World War II,” featuring Davina and The Vagabonds and Hot Club of Cowtown, $25-$95
  • Friday, Sept. 10: “1812 Tchaikovsky Spectacular,” with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Gemma New, $25-$95
  • Saturday, Sept. 11: “Classics Albums Live Presents: Pink Floyd  Dark Side of the Moon,” $25-$95
  • Sunday, Sept. 12: “Classic Albums Live Presents: The Beatles – Abbey Road,” $25-$95
  • Tuesday, Sept. 14: Sergio Mendes, with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Sean O’Loughlin, $36-$120
  • Saturday, Sept. 18, and Sunday, Sept. 19: “Star Wars: Return of the Jedi” in concert, with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Christopher Dragon, $36-$120
  • Friday, Sept. 24: “Frank & Ella,” featuring Capathia Jenkins and Tony DeSare, with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Steven Reineke, $25-$95
  • Sunday, Sept. 26: Jason Mraz, with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Sean O’Loughlin, $45-$250
  • Wednesday, Sept. 29: Bobby McFerrin, $25-$95
  • Thursday, Sept. 30: Pat Metheny Side Eye, featuring James Francies and Joe Dyson, $25-$95
  • Friday, Oct. 8: “Payare,Barnatan and Mahler,” with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Rafael Payare, $25-$108
  • Sunday, Oct. 10: Indigo Girls, with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Sean O’Loughlin, $45-$200
  • Friday, Oct. 15: “Steve Hackman’s Brahms vs. Radiohead,” $25-$95
  • Saturday, Oct. 16, and Sunday, Oct.17: “Song and Symphony,” with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Rafael Payare, $25-$108
  • Friday, Oct. 22, and Saturday, Oct. 23: “Chicago: The Musical in Concert,” with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Rob Fisher, $36-$120
  • Sunday, Oct. 24: “The Music of John Coltrane and Lee Morgan,” with Gilbert Castellanos and guests, $20-$75
  • Friday, Oct. 29, and Saturday, Oct. 30: “Fate Now Conquers: Simon and Beethoven,” with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Rafael Payare, $25-$108
  • Saturday, Oct. 31: “Ofrenda: A Día de los Muertos Celebration,” $25-$95, 6p.m.
  • Friday, Nov. 5, and Saturday, Nov. 6: “Beethoven, Bartók & Biss,” with the San Diego Symphony, conducted by Rafael Payare, $25-$108
  • Sunday, Nov. 7: “An Evening of Frank Loesser, with Ted Sperling, $25-$95
  • Saturday, Nov. 13, and Sunday, Nov. 14: The San Diego Symphony, conducted by Edo De Waart, $25-$108, 4 p.m.

Tickets: Series tickets are on sale at theshell.org, by phone at 619-235-0804 and at the symphony box office at 750 B Street downtown. Single tickets go on sale June 22, with prices initially ranging from $20-$250. Flexible pricing will change ticket prices depending on demand.

Packages: Series ticket packages are as follows:

  • Friday “A” package: 6 concerts, $153-$645
  • Saturday “A” package: 6 concerts, $170-$750
  • Sunday “A” package: 6 concerts, $160-$880
  • Friday “B” and “C” packages: 3 concerts, $76-$335
  • Saturday “B” and “C” packages: 3 concerts: $76-$440
  • Sunday “B” and “C” packages: 3 concerts, $84-$440

Jacobs Masterworks at Rady Shell “Complete” packages: 5 concerts: $105-$540 (the series features performances by the symphony on Oct. 8, Oct. 16, Oct. 17, Oct. 29 and Oct. 30, and on Nov. 5, Nov. 6, Nov. 13 and Nov. 14)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Most Popular Stories

Latest News

More News