List: 8 more San Diego County elementary schools granted waivers to reopen


School classroom with blackboard

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SAN DIEGO – Eight more local schools have been granted a waiver to reopen by state and local public health officials, joining 19 others that were granted earlier in the week.

Nearly 100 area public, private and charter schools have applied for the waiver to reopen as of Wednesday, according to the county. The waivers impact schools for students in transitional kindergarten through 6th grade.

Among the new schools granted approval are:

  • Chabad Hebrew Academy
  • Escondido Christian School
  • Faithful Ambassadors Bible Baptist Academy
  • San Diego French American School
  • San Diego Jewish Academy
  • St. Paul’s Lutheran School
  • St. Therese Academy
  • The Evans School

San Diego County was removed from the state’s watchlist Tuesday, effectively starting a countdown to Sept. 1, the date on which K-12 schools can consider offering in-person instruction to students.

The first 19 waivers were granted to the following schools:

  • Calvary Christian Academy
  • Christ Lutheran School
  • Christian Unified School District East
  • Christian Unified School District South
  • Christian Unified School District West
  • City Tree Christian School
  • Francis Parker School
  • Gillispie School
  • La Jolla Country Day School
  • Ocean View Christian Academy
  • Ramona Lutheran Christian School
  • Rancho Santa Fe School District
  • Saint Patrick School
  • Santa Fe Christian School
  • Shepherd of the Hills Lutheran School
  • The Bishop’s School
  • The Cambridge School
  • The Community School of San Diego
  • The Rock Academy

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Most Popular Stories

Latest News

More News