Hometown favorite Wil Myers to compete in MLB Home Run Derby


Wil Myers #4 of the San Diego Padres hits a three-run home run during the seventh inning of a baseball game against the Baltimore Orioles at PETCO Park on June 28, 2016 in San Diego, California. (Photo by Denis Poroy/Getty Images)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Data pix.
SAN DIEGO -- Major League Baseball's Home Run Derby will be held Monday at Petco Park, with San Diego Padres first baseman Wil Myers among the eight contestants.

Myers' 19 home runs through Wednesday gave him the No. 6 seed and a first-round matchup against Cincinnati Reds outfielder Adam Duvall, who is seeded third. The seedings were based on the number of home runs the participants had hit as of Wednesday.

Myers will try to hit the pitches of his 19-year-old brother Beau, who recently completed his freshman season at Appalachian State, where he is an infield-outfielder. Myers was the National League Player of the Month in June when he hit 11 of his 19 home runs.

Myers and Duvall are both first-time Home Run Derby participants, as is Los Angeles Dodgers rookie shortstop Corey Seager.


The Duvall-Myers winner will face the winner of the first-round matchup between second-seeded Todd Frazier of the Chicago White Sox, the 2015 Home Run Derby champion, and seventh-seeded Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies.

The top seed is Baltimore Orioles outfielder-designated hitter Mark Trumbo, who leads Major League Baseball with 28 home runs. Trumbo will face the eighth-seeded Seager, who has 17 home runs.

The Trumbo-Seager winner will face the winner of the matchup between fourth-seeded Robinson Cano of the Seattle Mariners, the 2011 Home Run Derby champion, and fifth-seeded Giancarlo Stanton of the Miami Marlins.

Each batter will get four minutes, with the clock starting with the release of the first pitch. Thirty seconds of bonus time will be awarded for two home runs that each equal or exceed 440 feet.

In the first round and semifinals, each batter is entitled to one 45- second timeout. In the finals, each batter is entitled to two 45-second timeouts.

Ties in any round will be broken by a 60-second swing-off with no stoppage of time or additional time added. If a tie remains after the swing- off, batters will engage in successive three-swing swing-offs until there is a winner.

The jerseys worn by the Home Run Derby participants are patterned after the brown and yellow color combination worn by the Padres from 1969-84.

The National League participants will wear primarily brown jerseys, with yellow lettering, highlighted by orange, and yellow sleeves. The American League participants will wear primarily yellow jerseys, with brown lettering, highlighted by orange, and brown sleeves.

On Tuesday, don't forget to watch the pre-game special on FOX 5 beginning at 2 p.m. followed by the MLB All-Star Game at 4:30 p.m.

Most Popular Stories

Latest News

More News