San Diego’s minimum wage will increase on New Year’s Day

Data pix.

SAN DIEGO -- San Diego is one of 72 jurisdictions across the United States set to raise the minimum wage in 2020.

In 2020, the minimum wage for businesses with 25 employees or less will be $12. Employers with 26 employees or more will be required to pay $13 per hour, at a minimum.

But some local jurisdictions in California have their own minimum wages, including the city of San Diego, which includes a minor tweak to the state law.

Rather than setting two different rates based on the number of employees at a business, San Diego will simply require all employers to pay a minimum of $13 each hour, regardless of their staff's size.

The new mark is a $1 increase from 2019, when all employers were required to pay a minimum of $12 per hour.

The city has a map for determining whether a work location falls within San Diego's boundaries online.

Other California jurisdictions with their own minimum wage requirements include the city and county of Los Angeles, Malibu, Santa Monica and Pasadena, according to the Los Angeles Times.

"I’m really happy to try and get my employees to a place where they can afford to live near where they work," said Mikey Knab, director of operations for Ponce's Mexican Restaurant. Ponce's two locations employ approximately 57 people.

"Any dollar helps at this point," Becky Davis, a Ponces employee, told FOX 5. “Most of us that work here and work at a minimum wage job are working as hard as we possibly can just trying to provide for our families."

Other small business owners expressed concerns about the increase, saying it is bad for their bottom line when they are already struggling to keep up with rising expenses.

"Of course it's a concern," said Marco Fontana, co-owner of Piacere Mio. Fontana said the increase will mean higher produce costs and will ultimately be bad for employees because he will be forced to reduce his staff.

"I need to reduce their hours. We need to cut some shifts," Fontana said.

In California, the state minimum wage will increase $1 each year until it reaches $15 for all employers in 2023.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.