SAN DIEGO -- A series of new laws will go into effect in California beginning January 1.
For starters, there are a few new gun laws that will impact The Golden State. No one under the age of 21 will be permitted to buy a shotgun or rifle. Also, AB 3129 establishes a lifetime ban for those who have been convicted of serious domestic assault and for people who are hospitalized for mental health issues more than once within a year. And AB 2103 requires gun owners with a concealed carry license to undergo a minimum of eight hours of training, and demonstrate proficiency and safety on the shooting range.
Two-wheeled motorized scooters have been a hot topic in America's Finest City. Riders 18 years old and older will now have the option to wear a helmet.
For companies with 25 employees or less, the minimum wage will increase to $11 an hour. The wage increases to $12 an hour for those with 26 or more employees.
Perhaps the most endearing new law of all is AB 485, which requires pet stores to sell only rescue or shelter animals.
In addition for our four-legged friends, first responders are permitted to give them CPR.
Those with pets going through a divorce will see a significant change. A judge will get to decide who gets to keep the pets.
Beginning in 2019, surfing will become the state's official sport.
Here are some other new laws taking effect on Jan. 1:
- SB 439 establishes 12 years as the minimum age for prosecution in juvenile court, unless a minor younger than 12 has committed murder or rape.
- SB 1391 eliminates the ability to try a defendant under the age of 16 as an adult, thereby sending them to prison instead of a juvenile detention facility.
- AB 748 requires images of body cameras on police officers, and any other audio recording acquired by a police agency, to be disclosed to the public within 45 days after a police shooting or excessive force causes death or injury to a person.
- SB 1046 requires Californians found guilty of driving under the influence to temporarily install breathalyzers in their vehicles to get their driver's licenses back.
- AB 1976 requires employers to make reasonable efforts to provide a room or place for breastfeeding that is not a bathroom.
- AB 1884 limits restaurants statewide to giving out single-use straws only upon request of customers. It applies to full-service dining establishments but exempts fast-food restaurants. Restaurants violating the law could be fined $25 daily for violations, or a maximum of $300 per year.
- AB 626 allows cities and counties to authorize and regulate the sale of homemade foods.