Russia 2018: Who qualified for the World Cup

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

A picture taken on May 12, 2018 shows the pitch and the stands of Rostov Arena in Rostov-on-Don. - The nearly 45,000-seater stadium will host five World Cup 2018 football matches. (Photo by Mladen ANTONOV / AFP/Getty Images)

Thirty-two teams will take part in Russia 2018. The hosts were already guaranteed a place, but the others have been whittled down, courtesy of an arduous qualification procession, from 209 nations at the start of qualification to 31.
The U.S. will not be among them. For the first time in three decades, the U.S. men’s national team failed to qualify for the event.
Many of Europe’s leading countries have made the cut. Four-time World Cup winners Germany, former champions France, England and Spain and Euro 2016 champions Portugal will be among the favorites. They are joined by Belgium — who with 4.3 goals per game averaged the most goals scored in qualifying — Switzerland, Croatia and Denmark.
And let’s not forget about Iceland, a country with a population of just 335,000, who became the smallest country to qualify for a World Cup.
Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal and Tunisia are the qualifiers from Africa, while Australia, who scored 48 goals in qualifying — which was more than any other country — are through, along with fellow Asian qualifiers Iran, Japan, South Korea and Saudi Arabia.
South America is represented by Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Uruguay and Peru, while Costa Rica, Mexico and Panama make up the slots allocated to North and Central America and the Caribbean.

The qualifiers

Here are the countries who will be at Russia 2018:
  • Russia
  • Belgium
  • England
  • France
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Serbia
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Croatia
  • Sweden
  • Denmark
  • Egypt
  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Tunisia
South America:
  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Colombia
  • Uruguay
  • Peru
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Australia
North and Central America and the Caribbean:
  • Costa Rica
  • Mexico
  • Panama
Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.