Aztecs’ Rashaad Penny snubbed as Heisman Trophy finalists revealed

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SAN DIEGO - The list of finalists for the Heisman Trophy was released Monday and it failed to include San Diego State standout Rashaad Penny.

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson and Stanford running back Bryce Love were named finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

The award is given to the most outstanding player in college football in the United States whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity.

FOX 5 Sports Director Troy Hirsch predicted last week that Aztecs' Penny wouldn't make the finalist list.

"[Penny] just didn't do enough.

All he did was run for over 2,000 yards and lead the nation in rushing and all-purpose yards while leading his team to at least 10 wins for the third straight season.

What Penny didn't do? He did not make an obscene gesture on the field and get suspended like Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield.

Penny also didn't miss any games due to injury like Stanford running back Bryce Love - whom the Aztecs beat by the way."

The Heisman Trophy winner will be announced Saturday, December 9 in New York City.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.