4 local schools named to national honor roll

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SAN DIEGO — Four schools in San Diego County were named National Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education Wednesday.

The honorees were Arroyo Vista Charter School in Chula Vista, Creekside Elementary School in the Sabre Springs section of San Diego, La Jolla Elementary School and Paloma Elementary School in San Marcos.

They were among 29 Blue Ribbon Schools named in California and 329 nationwide.

“This recognition for California is a testament to the hard work of our educators, administrators, and communities to prepare our students for both 21st century careers and college,” said Tom Torlakson, state superintendent of public instruction. “We are making progress, but we must keep our momentum going because we have much work to do.”

Schools are selected based on student achievement and progress in closing the achievement gap between various classes of pupils.

School officials will be recognized Nov. 7-8, 2016, in Washington, D.C., where each winner will receive a plaque and flag. Blue Ribbon winners may fly the flag at their schools as a symbol of exemplary teaching and learning.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.