Top 2 SDUSD vote-getters head for November run-off

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SAN DIEGO — Although LaShae Collins received more than 3,000 votes over appointed Trustee Sharon Whitehurst-Payne in Tuesday’s primary election for a seat on the San Diego Unified School District Board of Education, both will advance to a city-wide runoff in November to decide the winner.

Only residents in sub-district E voted for their respective representative on the school board Tuesday, but because the top two vote-getters advance to a runoff, voters across San Diego will decide whether Collins, the district director for Assemblywoman Shirley Weber, D-San Diego, or Whitehurst-Payne, a longtime educator and school volunteer, will be elected.

Whitehurst-Payne was appointed to fill the remainder of Marne Foster’s term earlier this year, after Foster resigned and pleaded guilty to a misdemeanor charge of violating the Political Reform Act by accepting an excessive donation from a single donor. She represents southeast San Diego neighborhoods in the Lincoln High, Morse High and portions of the Crawford High areas.

Incumbent board member John Lee Evans, a psychologist and former teacher, defeated Stephan Groce, but both will also advance to a runoff.

Trustee Richard Barrera, a labor union leader, was unopposed for a third term to represent south and central San Diego.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.