Gov. Brown signs $15 minimum wage law
SACRAMENTO — Gov. Jerry Brown Monday signed a law that will eventually raise California’s minimum wage to $15 an hour.
With a stroke of the governor’s pen, California became the first state to adopt a statewide $15 minimum. It will increase gradually from $10 today to $15 by 2022 for most businesses. Assuming 1.5% annual inflation, $15 in 2022 is about $13.72 today.
Nearly 2.2 million workers in California currently make the minimum wage.