4 finalists selected Foster’s school board position

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

San Diego Unified School District Board President Marne Foster

SAN DIEGO — Four finalists were selected Wednesday night in the search to select a successor to Marne Foster, who resigned from the San Diego Unified School District Board of Education.

The finalists are Brenda Campbell, LaShae Collins, Erica Dibello-Hitta and Sharon Whitehurst-Payne. They were selected from a group of 10 candidates who addressed the board for three minutes each.

Two ballots were taken at a special, two-hour meeting that was held at Herbert Ibarra Elementary School in City Heights, where dozens of District E residents turned out.

The board had previously voted to allow three candidates to move forward.

Campbell is a retired administrator for San Diego City Schools; Collins the district director for Assemblywoman Shirley Weber, D-San Diego; Dibello- Hitta, a native of Argentina who came to the U.S. as a sixth grader, teaches English as a second language to adults in the Sweetwater Union High School District; and Whitehurst-Payne is a retired teacher and administrator for the San Diego Unified School District .

Collins and Whitehurst-Payne are running for the seat in the June primary. Because the seat representing Southeast San Diego is up for election this year, board members opted against holding a special election to fill the position.

“It’s time for us in Southeast San Diego to stop remediating our students,” Whitehurst-Payne said. “Let them know there is a bigger world out there.”

Campbell had a similar sentiment in her remarks to the board.

By Paul Levikow,   City News Service

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.