Watch Live: Democratic Presidential Debate in Ohio

Cole, Gonzalez win special election

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SAN DIEGO — Labor coordinator and former police lieutenant Myrtle Cole won a runoff election to claim the San Diego City Council’s vacant District 4 seat representing the southeast part of the city.

With all percent of precincts reporting, Cole had 53 percent of the vote, while longtime community activist Dwayne Crenshaw had 47 percent, according to the Registrar of Voters Office.


Myrtle Cole, Lorena Gonzalez

Cole will replace Tony Young, who resigned in January after six years in office to become CEO of the San Diego and Imperial Counties chapter of the American Red Cross.

Cole had the backing of Mayor Bob Filner, along with most of the area’s Democratic office holders and labor organizations. She came out on top in the March primary election with 33 percent of the vote.

Cole told Fox5 she has three priorities to address.

“Public safety is number one. When I go to the doors residents say ‘I don’t feel safe. I don’t feel safe leaving my home,’” Cole said. “Number two is infrastructure – potholes. We’re standing and doing human billboarding with potholes and cracked sidewalks.”

The third issue she plans on addressing is job and service creation.

“We have to bring our grocery stores back into our neighborhoods. We have to bring restaurants. We have to get people jobs,” she said.

Crenshaw, who is on leave as executive director of San Diego Pride, bested the seven other primary election candidates with 15 percent of the vote. He was endorsed by environmental organizations, school district trustees and most of the other primary candidates.

In the 80th Assembly District, which includes the southern areas of San Diego County, San Diego and Imperial Counties Labor Council CEO Lorena Gonzalez easily defeated Chula Vista Councilman Steve Castaneda and will replace Ben Hueso, who was elected to the state Senate.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.