Full ‘strawberry moon’ to rise during summer solstice for first time in nearly 70 years

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The almost full moon setting behind the Mt. Soledad cross the morning of Holy Thursday at sunrise, 3/24/16. (Evgeny Yorobe Photography)

SAN DIEGO – The longest day of the year is upon us.

This Monday brings the summer solstice, which marks the beginning of the season and a chance to soak in copious amounts of sunshine.

The solstice is celebrated by a variety of cultures worldwide. Every year, thousands gather at Stonehenge in Wiltshire, England, to rejoice the prospect of sunny summer days.

As if this day wasn’t already a wonderful excuse to run outside, Monday will also feature a full “Strawberry” moon — the name comes from the belief that strawberry-picking season is at its peak during this time of the year, according to the Farmer’s Almanac.

Monday’s full moon, which is also called the Mead Moon or the Rose Moon, is the only night in the month when the moon is in the sky all evening long. Normally, throughout the June month, the moon shares some time with the daytime sky, according to Sky & Telescope.

On June 20, the summer sun will reach its most northerly point, directly overhead at the Tropic of Cancer at 23 degrees 27 minutes north latitude. For North American time zones this event happens at 6:34 p.m. EDT, 5:34 p.m. CDT, 4:34 p.m. MDT, and 3:34 p.m. PDT, Sky & Telescope reports.

Some online calculators can help you figure out when sunrise and sunset will happen in your area.